Consultation on the Distribution of Discretionary Rate Relief for Businesses

Closed 17 Jul 2017

Opened 30 Jun 2017


At the Budget on 8 March 2017, the Government announced additional funding for councils to establish a discretionary business rates relief scheme to support businesses across the country which were affected by the latest revaluation of rateable values. Following the Budget, the Government provided a consultation document for responses, which closed on 7th April, and can be found here.

The Government have confirmed the value of the grant for Winchester and this is set out below.

Local authority 2017-2018 Gross bill increase (given property criteria) (£000s) Amount of discretionary pot awarded (£000s)
2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21
Winchester 4,503 530 257 106 15


The Government’s consultation also stated that the Local Authority’s conditions of award must include the ability to recalculate the relief in the event of a change in rateable value and that it must consult with major precepting authorities.

The Council’s preferred option for distributing the relief is highlighted in this consultation and has attempted to comply with Government’s intention as well as reflecting on the district’s businesses. Our principle is that the scheme is easy to administer in order to make payment swift to assist businesses.

Please note that the Council has the right to recover overpaid discretionary relief when a successful appeal or changes by the Valuation Office Agency have reduced a business’s rateable value. The adjusted rateable value must cause a reduction in the increase of rates used to calculate the discretionary relief.

Why We Are Consulting

The Government believes that local authorities are best placed to judge the particular circumstances of local ratepayers and direct the funding where it is most needed to support local economies. The Government will allocate the available funding to each billing authority area based on assumptions about how authorities will target their relief scheme.


  • Bishops Waltham
  • Boarhunt And Southwick
  • Cheriton And Bishops Sutton
  • Colden Common And Twyford
  • Compton And Otterbourne
  • Denmead
  • Droxford
  • Itchen Valley
  • Kings Worthy
  • Littleton And Harestock
  • Olivers Battery And Badger Farm
  • Owslebury And Curdridge
  • Shedfield
  • Sparsholt
  • St Barnabas
  • St Bartholomew
  • St John And All Saints
  • St Luke
  • St Michael
  • St Paul
  • Swanmore And Newtown
  • The Alresfords
  • Upper Meon Valley
  • Whiteley
  • Wickham
  • Wonston And Micheldever


  • Rural
  • City Centre
  • Retail
  • Manufacturing
  • Service


  • Local Plans